Skip to Main Content
Hot air balloon over Oswego Lake

Youth Leadership Council

YLC Logo


Follow us on Instagram at @loyouncil!

In July 2016, The City Councilors of the City of Lake Oswego approved the creation of a Youth Leadership Council to encourage youth community involvement. The City of Lake Oswego Youth Leadership Council will provide local high school students a forum to exchange diverse opinions on matters of importance to their peer group with the City Council. The Youth Leadership Council will be moderated by city staff, but it will be led by the youth. The founding members of the Youth Leadership Council will have a strong hand in shaping the group's purpose, activities, structure, and other groundwork.

The Youth Leadership Council (YLC) consists of nine members and one alternate who must be of high school age and reside in the City of Lake Oswego. YLC members serve either one or two year terms.

The YLC meets the first Wednesday of the month from 5pm-7pm. Meetings alternate between the Main Fire Station Conference Room and Council Chambers. All Lake Oswego youth are welcome to attend. While public meetings law requires that meetings be open to all, we ask adults to be aware that their presence at the YLC meetings not held in Council Chambers may adversely impact the comfort level for youth to express themselves freely.

2017-2018 Youth Leadership Council

Annie Choo, Chair

Seba Marin-Quiros, Vice Chair

Brooke Baker, Vice Chair

River Smith, Secretary

Michael Murray, Secretary

Kyle Langford, Treasurer

River Smith, Treasurer

Jensen Kaelin

Natalie Goldberg

Olivia Gaussoin


For questions about the program, please contact Jenny Slepian at

Click any thumbnail image to view a slideshow

Youth Leadership CouncilYouth Leadership CouncilYouth Leadership CouncilYouth Leadership Council